Horseman’s Law

May 21, 2008 at 9:20 am 1 comment

You know what “horseman’s law” is, right?

Examples: 

  • The day before the big show, horse loses a shoe, goes lame
  • The biggest show of the year, the one you’ve been point chasing for months to get to, is the show where your breeches WILL rip, exposing your entire rear for the world to see.  Probably over the first jump of your first class.
  • The morning of the big portrait photo shoot, horsie will have obtained several mysterious cuts and bruises
  • Your horse may be piaffe-ing his heart out, wonderfully engaged, round, and beautiful- think “tens” on the scoring scale.  But the second you say, “hey! look at my awesome horse” he will get a bug up his bum and start bucking just as everyone turns and looks.

I could go on, there are lots of these.  It’s just The Way of The Horse, and is something most of us accepted long ago.   Why do I bring this up?  Because Klondike is getting vetted for a potential new owner this afternoon.  A-HA! You know what’s coming next, right?

Purely because he is getting vetted today, he came up a little… um, “off” yesterday.  Hinky.  Hitch in the old getalong, in the right hind.  Fortunately, Potential Buyer seems well acquainted with Horseman’s Law, and is going through with the vetting after being informed.  Yay!

Or… not-so-yay… I can’t figure out how I feel.  Obviously it will be a big sense of happiness that Kloninator finds his forever home, with someone who thinks he’s awesome and fun and will do right by him forever.  But I’m going to miss the little troublemaker.  He’s my dude.  His happy little smiling face has helped me a lot in recent weeks, when I feel like I’m going to lose my mind over my own awesome pony and his issues. 

So last night may have been our last little brief ride.  I used a halter and some lead ropes, because he’d just had his teeth done yesterday, and his mouth was probably feeling a little funny.  We didn’t do much, only enough to figure out where the hitch is coming from, really, but it was enjoyable anyway.  He’s just got such a great attitude about stuff, until it came time to trot on the gravel in front of people, so they could figure out what was up- it only took a couple times of that for him to start getting cranky, but I can’t say I blame him. 

Afterwards we did our usual stretch-for-cookies session, and then I gave him a little massage.  Note to Potential Buyer: he likes the “percussion” thing, you know, where you bang the edge of your hands up and down the back quickly?  Yeah, that feels really, really good, apparently. 🙂 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Mosey That Wasn’t He’s Too Quiet!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Megan  |  May 31, 2008 at 7:33 am

    I hate horsemans law! I can just see when the lady we are trying to work out a trade with is going to get bucked (even though mona hasn’t ever offered one!)

    I’m in love with your blog btw!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 21,101 hits

