Extreme Makeover, Horse Edition

June 18, 2008 at 10:00 am 1 comment

So remember this?  Of course you do- how could anyone forget?  This was, I think, my second ride on the Kloninator, when he was still fuzzy and motheaten, a little underweight, and totally not a fan of that “bit” thing.

His stride was a bit short, and “forward” and “quick” meant the same thing to him.  Fortunately he was enormously fun to ride, and adorable, so we forgave him. 

So now here we are, a few months later, and a few short days from saying “See ya, dude, it’s been fun!” and we finally have some photographic proof of the changes.

 So here is SuperKid and how he looked last night.   Not only is he shiny (sorry, I get distracted by shiny things), but he has a neck!  And he’s not gaping at the bit (too much), and he’s going forward without being quick.  Hasn’t he gotten gorgeous?

And here’s that pretty boy canter.  It’s mostly the same as before- you can still comfortably ride that canter all day long.  But now it’s got a little more oomph.  The feeling of the “sewing machine” that he used to have is long gone- he flows forward and out now, not so much up and down.  Klondike’s canter = heaven.  It always did, really, but now it’s even more so.

OK, so this probably isn’t the BEST example in the world of his awesomeness, but still.  Isn’t he adorable?  That’s the log with the ditch under it, so it’s a little scary.  The last time we did this, we had a lead and I was riding better.  This time, he had to put up with my insecurity a little bit, but he went, and it was fun.  I will say New Klondike has a bit more “jump” than the old one.  Remind me to work on the chicken elbows.

  Whee! Ditches are fun!  I’m including this one just because he’s completely adorable.  It’s also an exercise in why photos can help fix riding.  I have no idea what’s going on with my legs there- the right one seems to be in a somewhat normal place, but the left has swung back and I’m standing on my toe.  Lovely.  I live to make George Morris proud, can you tell?  At least I am “well turned out for schooling,” right?

This was also his first time cantering jumps, and cantering the ditch.  We’d always just hopped nice and easy over things from a trot.  He feels a little bit disorganized some times, and if I don’t keep it together he “tells” on me (we did have some rather non-dramatic run outs last night, ha!).

But man he’s cute. A big huge bucket of cute, really. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Horseman’s Law, Part II A long long goodbye

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. jess  |  June 18, 2008 at 11:20 am

    I was lucky to be the one to start Klondike in his journey but Kelly and Allie have done a great job. Kelly you look super and the difference in his jump is very impressive to me. I remember when he was just starting out with me and clunking over everything.

    So who is the next horse you will take on as a project???

    I hope we get lots of updates from his new home but how can they not love him.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 21,101 hits

