4th of July Fireworks

July 6, 2008 at 9:43 am 1 comment

It has been an exceptionally busy two weeks since we brought Klondike home, and I finally had time to take him out alone.  It was the moment of truth; just me and the horse.  Did I make the right choice?

Klondike performed magically.  He listened, responded, and tried to please each step of the ride.  Giving to the bit at a trot on the trail needs a little work, but so does my riding.  He gave me three long, even, collected canters on the farm lanes.

I relaxed on the cool down walk home, knowing that I had made the right choice.  Klondike was a true winner, regardless of what the racing stats show.  I saw the neighbor’s head over the hedge, and was getting ready to say “Hello,” when the firecracker went off.  My hands and throat tightened, and I got ready for a wild ride.

Klondike…he…blinked, I think.  It’s hard to tell when sitting on him.  Apparently Klondike also missed the memo that five-year-old thoroughbreds should leap sideways, and bolt in terror when subjected to nearby fireworks.  Yes, Kid Klondike is worth his weight in gold, and I have struck it rich.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Atypical hunt barn Bringing Sexy Back

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. jessicamorthole  |  July 7, 2008 at 6:47 am

    I was so happy to read his updates this morning. I will be smiling all day thinking how lucky Klondike was to find his special person and knowing how he will be appreciated for his great brain! Love the updates. Who said there aren’t quiet tb’s right?

    Jess

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 21,108 hits

