Breakfast in Bed

February 20, 2009 at 1:20 pm 2 comments

Klondike has me completely wrapped around his hoof. 

The other day, I went out to get… somebody, I don’t remember who.  Steven and Parker, maybe?  And I saw this:

Yup.  Havin' a Nice Nap.

Yup. Havin' a Nice Nap.

I went over to visit, and as usual he didn’t move a muscle, except to enjoy some nice neck scratchins.  He began nosing the dirt in front of him, looking disappointed, then looking at me, then looking over at the big new round bale in the feeder.  After two repetitions, what could I possibly do but give in and bring him breakfast in bed?

Thanks for the Hay, Lady!

Thanks for the Hay, Lady!

In riding news, I discovered over the weekend that though Klon is certainly easy to ride, and has retained everything quite while through his vacation, there’s still lots of work to be done.  It’s easy to forget- he’s quiet, he understands basic bending, doesn’t wiggle so much anymore, and stays on the bend through a turn or circle.  But all the recent work with Afton has led me onto a discovery mission to see how well Klondike can do lateral movement.

Answer:  Not so much.

It takes a pretty monumental effort to get him to move over without totally losing steam.  So I suppose the next step in our voyage together is to add some lateral movement to our repertoire.  Yay… my favorite (I guess though, with all this work on it, maybe my body will get more centered/straight, right?)!

Anyhow, we haven’t had video of Klondike in ages, so here is a little bit:

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Klondike = Magic I Should Only Ride Once Per Week…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jessicamorthole  |  February 21, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    Look at him go! He looks all stretchy and soft in the bridle. Must have more Klondike videos. You are doing an awesome job with him. We must go play at frying pan before he gets sold because really somebody has to buy him how could they not.

    Reply
  • 2. Splish Splash  |  February 23, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    I wish someone would bring ME breakfast in bed!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 21,108 hits

