Not Sure I’m Ready

July 1, 2009 at 2:08 pm 4 comments

Yeah, it’s official, Klondike is really available to the public, with an ad (currently photo-less) on dreamhorse and everything.

I thought I was ready for that, after all, we’ve been showing him to people here and there, and it’s not like I was surprised by any of this.  We hoarded him long enough, I think…  But when the pro trainer at our barn mentioned someone was going to see him (and a couple others, of course) on Thursday, in the morning while I’d be at work, I admit my insides sort of squirmed a little bit.

I mean, I’ve been riding him off and on for over a year now.  I knew him for months and months before that.  I admitted to being totally smitten with his goofy ass.  As much as I tried to prepare, it still makes me feel all weirded out and sad. 

Yesterday we went for a long trail ride with some friends… today we will do some ring work and try to get pictures for his sale ad and the CANTER website (which, by the way, was infected with some malicious virus-y thing, and is currently not operating normally).    I’m going to try really hard to not be a worrywart about tomorrow.  Not being able to be there is making me a neurotic mess.  Well, maybe not a total mess, but at least a partial one.  There’s a good chance I’ll be killing a little wine tonight. 

Last time he left I had a harder time than I anticipated, this time (because even if these people aren’t interested, someone will be) I don’t know what I’m going to do.  He’s like a member of my family at this point.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Wheeeeeeeee! Choose Your Klon Adventure

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. MEM  |  July 1, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    awwww Hugs to Kella. I am sure Klon will find the perfect people to adopt, and he will be fine.

    Reply
  • 2. nikki  |  July 1, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    awwwee…im gonna miss just reading about him. I can’t imagine how you feel.

    Reply
  • 3. Meghan  |  July 2, 2009 at 8:57 am

    I wish you could keep him, you guys seem to be such a great team! At least you can find some comfort in the fact that once he finds a perfect home, you can change the life of another ex-racehorse! Let us know what happens!

    Reply
  • 4. Mary  |  July 3, 2009 at 9:24 am

    Kelly,
    thanks for spending the many hours working with Klon. He is better for the experience.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 21,088 hits

